Harry Thurston

Harry Thurstons most recent poetry collections include The Deer Yard (with Allan Cooper) and Animals Of My Own Kind. His environmental writing has been published in many of North Americas leading magazines, including Audubon, Canadian Geographic and National Geographic. He has been awarded numerous writing prizes in both Canada and the United States, including the Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award, the Lane Anderson Award and the Evelyn Richardson Literary Award. Thurston lives in Tidnish, Nova Scotia.


[ Large Cover ]

[ Add to Cart ]
Keeping Watch at the End of the World
Harry Thurston

2015 / Poetry / $20.95
9781554471447 / Trade paper / 112 pp


In Keeping Watch at the End of the World, Harry Thurston explores the ways in which poetry stands sentinel at the edge-places where known and unknown meet. Whether that frontier lies between land and sea, present and past, health and illness, or youth and aging, Thurston holds that the poets duty is to survey the horizon and see things before they take shape, chronicling occurrences both acute and remote. A poet-naturalist in the tradition of Thoreau, Thurston reminds us of the importance of being fully present in the midst of our own brief lives, of shaping what we see into poetrys steeped wordsdark, light, and sweetened gifts.



Other Books by this Author

The Deer Yard
Harry Thurston, Allan Cooper

2013 / Poetry / $17.95 CAN / $17.95 US
9781554471201 / Trade paper
Broken Vessel: Thirty-five Days in the Desert
Harry Thurston

2007 / Poetry / $15.95 CAN / $15.95 US
9781554470341 / Trade paper
A Ship Portrait
Harry Thurston

2005 / Poetry / $49.95 CAN / $49.95 US
9781554470075 / Fine
A Ship Portrait
Harry Thurston

2005 / Poetry / $18.95 CAN / $18.95 US
9781554470068 / Trade paper
If Men Lived on Earth
Harry Thurston

2000 / Poetry / $39.95 CAN / $39.95 US
9781894031233 / Fine
If Men Lived on Earth
Harry Thurston

2000 / Poetry / $14.95 CAN / $14.95 US
9781894031226 / Trade paper

new releases catalogue meet the press contact us home page